Gelagen Blog
The folate upper limit that doesn't apply to this row
The Gelagen panel declares 442 mcg DFE of folate, 111% of the Daily Value. NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements also publishes a 1,000 mcg a day Tolerable Upper Intake Level for folate — a number people sometimes reach for and apply to any folate figure they see. That upper limit has a published scope, and the scope is narrower than the word “folate” suggests: it applies specifically to synthetic folic acid from supplements and fortified food, not to food folate or to a panel that declares its amount in DFE.
By the Gelagen Editorial Desk at Gelagencare · Medical review: Dr. Brenda LaTowsky, MD · Revised

The row, as printed
The Gelagen panel lists folate once: Folate, as folate, 442 mcg DFE, 111% of the Daily Value. Unlike several other rows on this panel, the form column does not name a specific compound — it says only “as folate,” while the amount column specifies the unit as DFE, dietary folate equivalents. No ingredient name such as folic acid, folinic acid or L-methylfolate appears anywhere on the label or in the published material. What the bottle discloses is an amount in a particular unit, not a particular chemical form.
A hundred and eleven percent of the Daily Value is comfortably over the 400 mcg DFE reference figure the FDA uses for folate on Supplement Facts labels. For a lot of readers, that is also the point where a second number gets pulled into the conversation: NIH's published 1,000 mcg Tolerable Upper Intake Level for folate. The natural move is to set 442 against 1,000 and conclude the panel is using under half of the ceiling. That move skips a step the Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheet is explicit about, and this post is about that skipped step.
The 1,000 microgram number, and where it actually comes from
NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements does publish a Tolerable Upper Intake Level of 1,000 mcg a day for folate in adults. It is a real number from a real regulatory source, not a figure to dismiss. The reason it exists at all is specific: it was set because of a documented risk that high folic acid intake can mask the anemia caused by vitamin B12 deficiency, delaying diagnosis of a B12 problem until nerve damage has already begun. That is the mechanism the UL is protecting against, and it is a mechanism tied to one particular chemical form.
Why the scope is folic acid, not folate in general
This is the part a bare number leaves out. NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements states that the Tolerable Upper Intake Level for folate applies to synthetic folic acid obtained from supplements, fortified foods, or both — not to folate occurring naturally in food. Folate from food has never been associated with the B12-masking effect the UL exists to prevent, and no adverse effects from naturally occurring food folate have been established at any level of ordinary intake. The UL, in other words, was never written as a ceiling on the nutrient “folate” in the abstract. It is a ceiling on one synthetic form of it, folic acid, taken from supplements or fortification.
That distinction is not a technicality invented for this article. It is the stated scope of the regulatory figure itself, and it is the same pattern NIH applies to several other nutrients where the UL only concerns the supplemental or fortified form rather than the food form — the logic for folate is not an isolated exception, it is how several of these upper limits are written.
Reading the scope correctly also clarifies what the UL is not protecting against. It is not a general ceiling on how much folate activity a body can process safely in a day; dietary folate intake well above 1,000 mcg DFE from food alone is both common and unremarkable, with no established upper intake level from food sources at all. The UL is narrowly aimed at one failure mode — synthetic folic acid masking a B12 deficiency — and a figure built around one specific mechanism should be read as answering that specific question, not as a general verdict on folate intake as a whole.
What DFE is doing on this label
Dietary folate equivalents is the unit that exists precisely because folic acid and food folate are not absorbed equally well, and a single figure is needed to compare them on one label. One microgram of DFE equals one microgram of food folate, or roughly 0.6 micrograms of folic acid taken with food, reflecting folic acid's higher bioavailability. A panel that declares its folate in DFE is already doing the conversion work that distinguishes the two forms for absorption purposes — which makes it tempting to assume DFE also settles the UL-scope question. It does not, because DFE is a bioavailability unit, not a disclosure of chemical identity.
Here is the boundary precisely: the 442 mcg DFE figure tells a reader how much folate activity the serving delivers, accounting for absorption differences, if the ingredient were a defined mixture of forms. It does not, by itself, tell a reader whether the ingredient supplying that activity is folic acid, a food-folate extract, or a reduced form such as L-methylfolate — because none of those is named on this label. And because the published UL specifically targets folic acid from supplements and fortified food, applying that 1,000 mcg ceiling to a DFE-labeled panel requires knowing something about the panel's actual source ingredient that this label does not state.
This is not a loophole the brand is using to look safer than it is. It is a genuine gap in what the label discloses, parallel to the gaps already noted on the label-facts page for this product: no manufacturer name, no Other Ingredients line, no certificate document behind the published lot number. The folate row has its own version of that same pattern. The amount is disclosed with real care — DFE rather than a plain microgram figure, which not every competing label bothers to do — and the specific form behind that amount is not disclosed at all.
How to read this row correctly, in three steps
None of this means the 1,000 mcg UL is irrelevant to someone deciding whether to take this product alongside a fortified diet or another folic-acid-containing supplement. It means the comparison has to be made correctly rather than by reflex.
Step one. Read the Daily Value percentage for what it is: 442 mcg DFE against a 400 mcg DFE Daily Value, both measured in the same bioavailability-adjusted unit, giving the 111% printed on the bottle. This comparison is valid as printed, because both sides of it use DFE.
Step two. Recognize that the 1,000 mcg UL is not stated in DFE at all — it is a cap on synthetic folic acid specifically, which is a narrower category than the DFE total. The two numbers, 442 mcg DFE and 1,000 mcg of folic acid, are not directly comparable without knowing the actual chemical source behind this panel's folate, which the label does not name.
Step three. If someone is already taking a separate folic acid supplement, eating a diet with substantial fortified grain products, or has a reason to track B12 status specifically, the relevant question to bring to a clinician or pharmacist is not “does 442 stay under 1,000,” it is “what form of folate does this product actually use, and does my total folic acid intake across everything I take approach the UL.” That is a more specific and more useful question than the label alone can answer, and it is the honest endpoint of this arithmetic rather than a reassurance.
What an unnamed form tells you, next to the two rows that do name one
Three nutrients on this panel carry a printed source compound in their form column: vitamin E as d-alpha tocopheryl acetate, vitamin A as retinyl acetate, vitamin B6 as pyridoxine HCl. The folate row breaks that pattern — its form column reads only “as folate,” with the specific compound left unstated. That is worth noticing on its own, independent of the UL-scope question above, because it means two different readers could be looking at the identical 442 mcg DFE figure while one of them is taking folic acid and the other is taking a reduced folate form, and the label gives no way to tell which.
This is not a claim that the omission is deceptive. Many supplement labels decline to name the specific folate source and simply declare the DFE total, which is legal and is, strictly, what FDA's labeling rules for folate require at minimum. But it does mean that the UL-scope distinction explored in this post — synthetic folic acid capped at 1,000 mcg, food folate uncapped — cannot be fully resolved from this label alone. A reader who wants to know precisely which side of that boundary this product's folate sits on would need to ask the seller directly what compound supplies the 442 mcg DFE figure, the same way this site has already asked, and not yet received, the Other Ingredients line and the certificate of analysis document discussed on the label-facts page.
It is also worth separating this gap from the panel's overall disclosure quality, which is genuinely strong by the standard of a proprietary-blend label. Thirteen nutrients, thirteen individual amounts, no combined blend weight anywhere on the panel — that is real transparency, and it is what makes an exercise like this post possible at all. A proprietary-blend label would not even offer a folate figure to compare against the UL in the first place. The unnamed form is a narrower, more specific gap sitting inside an otherwise fully disclosed panel, not a sign that the disclosure itself is weak.
Common questions about this row
If the form isn't named, should a reader assume the UL applies? The safer assumption, in the absence of a named form, is caution rather than either extreme: don't assume the UL definitely does not apply, and don't assume it definitely does. What can be said with confidence is that the 1,000 mcg figure is a folic-acid-specific ceiling, and that this panel's 442 mcg DFE alone, even if it were entirely synthetic folic acid converted into DFE, would still sit under that ceiling on its own. The open question is only what happens when it's added to other folic-acid sources in a day.
Does 111% of the Daily Value mean this product is over-fortifying? No. The Daily Value of 400 mcg DFE is a labeling reference describing a level that meets most adults' needs, not a ceiling. A figure modestly above 100%, as this one is, is common and unremarkable on its own; it only becomes relevant to the UL conversation once a reader is also counting other folic-acid sources toward the 1,000 mcg ceiling specifically.
Is DFE the same thing as a microgram of folic acid? No, and this is the core distinction this post is built around. A microgram of DFE already accounts for the better absorption of folic acid relative to food folate; roughly 0.6 micrograms of folic acid taken with food produce about 1 microgram of DFE. Converting a DFE figure back into a folic-acid-equivalent figure, if that is what a reader actually needs for comparison against the UL, requires knowing the ingredient's actual form, which this label does not state.
Should someone who is pregnant or trying to conceive read this differently? Folate needs rise in pregnancy, and NIH publishes separate, higher RDA and UL figures for pregnant people specifically. This post's arithmetic uses the general adult figures only. Anyone pregnant, nursing or trying to conceive should bring this label to a clinician rather than apply this post's general-adult comparison to their own situation, consistent with the pregnancy caution already printed in this site's footer on every page.
The boundary, in one table
| Figure | Unit it is measured in | What it applies to |
|---|---|---|
| This panel's folate row | 442 mcg DFE | Total folate activity declared on this label, bioavailability-adjusted |
| FDA Daily Value for folate | 400 mcg DFE | The same DFE unit, which is why the 111% figure is a valid comparison |
| NIH Tolerable Upper Intake Level | 1,000 mcg | Synthetic folic acid from supplements and fortified food specifically, not food folate or a DFE total |
Try Gelagen with 60 days to change your mind
Two bottles is $79 each and lasts exactly 60 days, which is the only pack that matches the guarantee window. Three brings it to $69 a bottle with free US shipping.
Add to cart, $158 for 2 bottles
Checkout happens on the seller’s secure page. After you order, the desk listed in the footer handles tracking and refunds.
References
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Folate, Health Professional Fact Sheet (Tolerable Upper Intake Level and its scope; dietary folate equivalents). https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Folate-HealthProfessional/
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, reference table: Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. https://www.fda.gov/food/nutrition-facts-label/daily-value-nutrition-and-supplement-facts-labels
Every source above was opened and read on October 1, 2026. None of them tested Gelagen itself. They describe the named nutrients, which is a different thing from testing this finished formula.
Keep reading
Next on this site
The Gelagen label, transcribed
The printed panel line by line, with every amount, every computed percentage and a list of what the label does not say.
How to read a supplement panel in four minutes
Serving size, the amount column, percent Daily Value, Other Ingredients, the FDA asterisk and the lot codes.
What happens to the panel if you take one gummy instead of two
Every one of the thirteen printed amounts, halved, against its own reference value.