USA Authorized Retailer for Gelagen 2 gummies a day · 30 servings 60-day money-back guarantee Lot GEL-26/GE-6014
GelagenGelagencare · official info Buy Gelagen
Buy Gelagen, from $49 a bottle

USA Authorized Retailer for Gelagen. Orders go through the button above.

Gelagen Blog

Reading the Gelagen Label: Ingredients, Supplement Facts and the Gaps

By Gelagen Editorial Desk · Medically reviewed by Dr. Brenda LaTowsky, MD, Physician · Reviewed · Published

Last updated

Quick answer

Two gummies carry thirteen nutrients, each with a printed amount: vitamins A, C, D, E, B6 and B12, folate, biotin, pantothenic acid, choline, iodine, zinc and inositol. Biotin is the largest at 5,000 mcg. The label leaves out the maker, the other ingredients, sugar per serving and a best-before date.

Key facts

  • Serving size: 2 gummies. Servings per container: 30. Form: chewable gummy, 60 per bottle.
  • Thirteen nutrients, thirteen printed amounts. There is no proprietary blend.
  • Largest amount: biotin, 5,000 mcg, 16,667% of the Daily Value. Smallest: choline, 0.04 mg, 0.007%.
  • Percentages on this site are our own sums from the FDA Daily Value table. The bottle printed amounts, not percentages.
  • Inositol has no Daily Value, so no percentage is shown.
  • Not published: other ingredients, sugar, gelling agent, maker, best-before date, storage line and the certificate document.
  • Nothing on the panel is collagen, gelatin or a collagen peptide.

What does the front of the Gelagen bottle say?

Start with the front, because it is the part most people read and the part that tells you least. It carries six printed lines: Advanced Gummies for Skin Health, then Youthful Glow, Deep Hydration and Smooth Appearance, then 60 Gummies and Dietary Supplement. Beside them sits KOREAN TECHNOLOGY with a South Korean flag roundel.

None of those lines is a number. Glow, hydration and smoothness describe how skin looks, and none can be measured on this panel. The words "dietary supplement" are the statement every supplement must carry. Nothing on the front says collagen.

The directions are on the label too: chew two gummies once a day, with a full glass of water, about half an hour before a morning or afternoon meal. The caution line adds: adults 18 and over, follow the label, and talk to a clinician before starting if you take medicines, are pregnant or nursing, or have a medical condition.

What is on the Gelagen supplement facts panel, row by row?

Here is the full panel for two gummies. The first three columns come from the label. The fourth is ours.

The Gelagen Supplement Facts panel. Percentages are computed by us from the FDA Daily Values
NutrientForm as printedAmountPercent of Daily Value
Vitamin Aretinyl acetate630 mcg RAE70%
Vitamin Cascorbic acid20 mg22%
Vitamin Dcholecalciferol10 mcg50%
Vitamin Ed-alpha tocopheryl acetate7.4 mg49%
Vitamin B6pyridoxine HCl2 mg118%
Folate442 mcg DFE442 mcg DFE111%
Vitamin B12methylcobalamin6 mcg250%
Biotinnot stated5,000 mcg16,667%
Pantothenic acidnot stated5.2 mg104%
Cholinenot stated0.04 mg0.007%
Iodinenot stated42 mcg28%
Zincnot stated2.7 mg25%
Inositolnot stated40 mcgNo Daily Value

The numbers show the shape of the formula. Three sit near their Daily Value (B6, folate and pantothenic acid). One is at two and a half times it (B12). Six are partial top-ups (vitamins A, C, D, E, iodine and zinc). Two are traces (choline and inositol). And one is far out on its own (biotin).

Ingredient card for biotin showing eggs, almonds, walnuts, seeds, tomatoes, a carrot and a spoon of white powder
The seller's biotin ingredient card, showing foods such as eggs, almonds and walnuts. Biotin is the largest amount on the panel.

Which ingredients are the biggest and the smallest?

The two ends of the panel are the parts worth knowing.

  • Biotin, 5,000 mcg. NIH puts the adult adequate intake at 30 mcg a day, so this is about 167 times that. It is the standard hair, skin and nails ingredient. It can also interfere with some blood tests, so tell whoever orders yours.
  • Choline, 0.04 mg. The Daily Value is 550 mg, so this is roughly one part in fourteen thousand. It is a name on a panel, not a dose.
  • Inositol, 40 mcg. No Daily Value exists. Where it has been studied in people, the doses are measured in grams. Forty micrograms is also a name more than a dose.

In the middle, vitamin A is the one to add up. It is preformed, as retinyl acetate. The adult upper limit is 3,000 mcg and this serving gives 630 mcg RAE. A multivitamin and a second skin formula can push the total up without you noticing.

The label also prints the form for several nutrients: d-alpha tocopheryl acetate for vitamin E, methylcobalamin for B12 and DFE for folate. Those small details show care, and we note them for that reason.

What does the Gelagen label leave out?

A label that shows amounts still has holes. Here are the ones that matter.

What is not published, and what it leaves open
Missing itemStatusWhat it leaves open
Other ingredientsNot publishedThe gummy base: sugars, gelling agent, colours and flavours
Sugar per servingNot publishedThe question a gummy should answer first
Vegetarian suitabilityCannot be establishedGelatin or pectin decides it, and neither is named
Maker or distributorNot publishedWho is behind the bottle
Best-before dateNot printedOnly the lot, GEL-26/GE-6014, is a date-related handle
Storage instructionNot publishedHow warm is too warm for a gummy
Certificate documentNumber only, GEL-6014-26-GEWhat was tested, and the result
Percent Daily Value columnNot printedOurs are computed and labelled as ours

Most of what you chew in a gummy is the base, not the vitamins. For Gelagen, that base is not published. So the sugar, allergy and vegetarian questions stay open. If any of them matters to you, ask the order desk before you buy.

How can you read any supplement label in four steps?

You can use the same method on any bottle, including this one.

  1. Serving size first. Every amount is per serving, not per gummy. Here a serving is two gummies.
  2. Amount and percent. Divide by the Daily Value if no percentage is printed. The FDA publishes the table.
  3. Other ingredients. In a gummy this line is most of the product. Gelagen's is missing.
  4. Lot and date. Gelagen shows a lot. A date is not printed.

For more on each nutrient and on the panel as printed, see the site's ingredients page and label facts page. The full list is in the order printed above, with no blend hiding any of it.

Sources used on this page

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. https://www.fda.gov/food/nutrition-facts-label/daily-value-nutrition-and-supplement-facts-labels
  2. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Biotin: Fact Sheet for Consumers. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Biotin-Consumer/
  3. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin A and Carotenoids: Fact Sheet for Consumers. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminA-Consumer/
  4. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Zinc: Fact Sheet for Consumers. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Zinc-Consumer/

The product facts come from the printed label and the seller's published material, as summarised on this site's own pages. None of the sources above tested Gelagen itself. They describe the named nutrients and the reference values, which is not the same as testing this finished product.

Frequently asked questions

What are the Gelagen ingredients?

Thirteen nutrients per two gummies: vitamins A, C, D, E, B6 and B12, folate, biotin, pantothenic acid, choline, iodine, zinc and inositol. The gummy base, or other ingredients, is not published.

What are the Gelagen supplement facts?

Serving size is two gummies and there are 30 servings per container. Each of the thirteen nutrients has a printed amount, for example biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin C 20 mg and zinc 2.7 mg.

Does the Gelagen label show percent Daily Value?

No. The amounts were printed without a percentage column. The percentages on this site are our own sums from the FDA Daily Value table.

Is there a proprietary blend in Gelagen?

No. Every one of the thirteen nutrients has its own printed amount, which is the best thing about the label.

What is not on the Gelagen label?

The maker, the other ingredients, sugar per serving, vegetarian status, a best-before date and a storage instruction. A certificate number exists, but the document does not.

What lot number should the bottle have?

Documented stock carries lot GEL-26/GE-6014, with certificate reference GEL-6014-26-GE. Read your bottle's lot before you open the seal and call the order desk if it differs.

Our view

The Gelagen label is one of its best features. Thirteen numbers you can read are worth more than a famous name, and they let you do your own sums.

The label's weak side is the gummy base and the missing maker. Read the panel with the biotin and the vitamin A in mind, and ask the desk about the rest before you commit to a large pack.

Keep reading: Is Gelagen worth itIs Gelagen safeHow many Gelagen a day

Gelagen, from $49 a bottle 60-day money-back guarantee · 60 gummies a bottle Add To Cart